Faculty Advisory Board

The mission of the faculty board is to advise DOCE leadership on key priorities to strengthen, connect and amplify civic engagement at Duke and to serve as ambassadors of these goals and priorities across campus and in partner communities. Board members, representing Duke’s 12 schools, serve a three-year term, meeting monthly during the regular academic year.

2020-2021 Faculty Advisory Board Members

Jennifer Ahern Dodson, Assistant Professor of the Practice, Thompson Writing Program | Trinity College of Arts & Sciences

Dennis Clements (Chair) Interim Director | Duke Global Health Institute

Aaron Chatterji, Associate Professor, Strategy | Fuqua School of Business

Leonor Corsino, Associate Professor, Medicine | School of Medicine

Andrew Foster, Clinical Professor, Law | School of Law

Michelle Hartman, Assistant Professor, Nursing | School of Nursing

Michelle Lyn, Assistant Professor, Community & Family Medicine | School of Medicine

David Malone, Professor of the Practice, Education | Trinity College of Arts & Sciences

Deb Reisinger, Assistant Professor, Romance Studies | Trinity College of Arts & Sciences

Liz Shapiro-Garza, Assistant Professor, Environmental Science & Policy Division | Nicholas School of the Environment

Orin Starn, Professor, Cultural Anthropology, History | Trinity College of Arts & Sciences

Ex-Officio Members

Leslie Parkins, Director, Duke Office of Civic Engagement

Dr. Dennis Clements, current chair of the Faculty Advisory Board and the Division Chief of Primary Care Pediatrics, shares more about his local community and how civic engagement can enhance faculty-student relationships.